News Center

April 23rd, 2013

Rathje campaign begins to take shape

1st Congressional District, Cedar Rapids-Today, Steve Rathje, Candidate for the U.S. House of Representatives seat representing the 1st District of Iowa, announced his campaign organization for the 2014 election.

“I am proud to have the support of so many people in my run for Congress,” Rathje said. “I’ve been listening to Iowans and I see what is going on both in Iowa and across the country. These conversations strengthen my resolve to win this race and go to Washington as someone who will focus on job creation, the economy and increasing take home pay. Everyday, in my business, I am working hard to get our economy back on track by bringing manufacturing and jobs back home.”

Rathje also announced the names of the Rathje for Congress Steering Committee, saying, “I am proud that this group—these 30 people from all walks of life—have agreed to assist me, and I am thankful for their leadership.” Members of the Rathje for Congress Steering Committee include:

•    John Armon—Professional, Industrial and Commercial Construction
•    Virginia Bailey—(Retired) Rockwell Collins
•    Bill Becker—CEO, Comweb International
•    Dave Brown—President and CEO, Modern Piping
•    George Cramer—Senior Shareholder, Cramer and Associates
•    Kurt Croell—President and CEO, Croell Redi-Mix
•    Jeff Elgin—President, J&P Elgin
•    Chuck Finnegan—CEO, L.L. Pelling Asphalt Paving Company
•    Mark Hanrahan—CEO, MidAmerica Aerospace
•    Matt Horsfield—President, Horsfield Companies
•    Brad Loney—Executive, Intertrade Steel and Triton Manufacturing
•    Wieslaw Machinowski, M.D.—Pediatrician
•    Bill McClelland—President, UR Relay
•    Angie McClure, Director of Community Relations, The Views Senior Living Center
•    John Morgan—Financial Advisor, Mutual of Omaha
•    Sid Morris—Retired Administrator, University of Northern Iowa
•    Leon Mosley—Past Co-Chair, Republican Party of Iowa
•    Gene Munier—Linn County Farmer
•    Dr. Gene Nassif, D.P.M.—Principal, Foot and Ankle Specialists of Iowa
•    Jim Neiman—CEO, Paul Neiman Construction
•    Dr. M.N. Payvandi—M.D.-Cardiologist
•    John Peterson—CEO, Amana Society
•    Bob Rathje—President, Rathje Construction
•    Mary Rathje—Executive, Rathje Construction
•    John Roetlin—CEO, Kalona Cheese Factory
•    Charlie Rohde—President, King’s Materials
•    John Sadler—CEO, Sadler Power Train
•    Dave Streb—President and CEO, Streb Construction
•    James Unzeitig—Vice President, Unzeitig Construction
•    Bill Wirth—Independent Insurance Broker

“Each of these people either live in the 1st District, have employees who live here, or do business and serve people here,” Rathje noted. “They understand, first hand, that the promised economic recovery has not materialized and they want to work with a candidate who has solutions. I’m running for Congress and my broad based support is because people are tired of all of the political infighting, both within the Republican Party and in Washington. People are asking for someone to step forward who can focus on creating or finding solutions for our problems rather than just getting stuck on the problems.”

Mr. Rathje, whose campaign reported over $50,000 in fundraising in 40 days during the 1st quarter, announced several prominent endorsements of former military leaders, as well. “These retired Generals and current Fox News Analysts stand with me and my desire to increase the strength of our nation’s military and responsibly carry out the defense of our country,” said Rathje. The individuals who have endorsed Rathje include:

•    Lt. Gen. Tom McInerney, US Air Force, Ret.
•    Maj. Gen. Paul E. Vallely, US Army, Ret.
•    Brigadier Gen. Jimmy Cash, US Air Force, Ret.

In addition, Rathje also announced additions to his campaign staff of Doug Wagner as Campaign Manager and Taylor Nelson as Field Director. Wagner has served as campaign manager of the successful referendum for the funding of Veterans Memorial Stadium, as Press Secretary to former First District Congressman, Jim Leach (1997-2000), and as Chief of Staff to the Mayor and Executive Assistant to the City Council for the City of Cedar Rapids (2002-2006). In addition to having run for Cedar Rapids City Council, Nelson has served as founder and president of both the Kirkwood College Republicans (2009-2011) and Linn County College Republicans (beginning 2011).

Enhanced by Zemanta

About the Author

The Iowa Republican

blog comments powered by Disqus