News Center

January 22nd, 2013

Democrat Prichard Wins HD 52 Special Election

Iowa Democrats held onto the House District 52 seat after Todd Prichard defeated Republican Dennis Litterer in a special election. Prichard won 55%-44%. A total of 5,452 people voted. The makeup of the Iowa House is now 53-47 in favor of Republicans.

HD 52 covers all of Chickasaw and Floyd counties, and part of Cerro Gordo County. The seat opened when Democrat Brian Quirk resigned his seat shortly after the November 6 election to take a job as the general manager of the New Hampton Municipal Light Plant.

Quirk was one of the more moderate Democrats in the Iowa House. He voted in favor of a late term abortion ban in 2011. Todd Prichard is a prosecutor in the Floyd County attorney’s office. Dennis Litterer runs an insurance and investment business in rural Ionia.

About the Author

Kevin Hall
Kevin Hall brings almost two decades of journalistic experience to TheIowaRepublican. Starting in college as a radio broadcaster, Hall eventually became a television anchor/reporter for stations in North Carolina, Missouri, and Iowa. During the 2007 caucus cycle, Hall changed careers and joined the political realm. He was the northwest Iowa field director for Fred Thompson's presidential campaign. Hall helped Terry Branstad return to the governor's office by organizing southwest Iowa for Branstad's 2010 campaign. Hall serves as a reporter/columnist for

blog comments powered by Disqus