News Center

March 19th, 2012

Iowa GOP Announces Iowa Caucus Review Committee

DES MOINES–The Republican Party of Iowa (RPI) State Central Committee today approved the formation of a 17-member Iowa Caucus Review Committee and confirmed Chairman A. J. Spiker’s nominees to the committee.

The committee will be chaired by RPI Co-Chair Bill Schickel.  Iowa Secretary of State Deputy of Elections Mary Mosiman will serve as committee co-chair. “My challenge to the committee is to bring back recommendations that will build upon the most open and transparent presidential preference process in the country,” Spiker said.

“The purpose of the committee is to conduct a full audit and review of the Republican Caucus,” said Schickel. “We’re going to review what went right and what went wrong. We will fix what went wrong and promote what went right.”  The committee will hold its first meeting at 10 A.M. Thursday, April 26 in Des Moines. Future meetings will be held in other communities across the state.

Committee members will be assigned to sub-committees on public relations, operations and training. A research subcommittee will gather data and background information for the committee.  The committee and each of the sub-committees will be asking for ideas and suggestions from experts and ordinary citizens alike throughout the state and nation, Schickel said. “Although this will be a review of the Republican caucuses, we will be acting in consultation with our colleagues in the Democrat Party,” Schickel said.  “Having open, honest and transparent caucuses is in the interest of all Iowans.”

The members of the Iowa Caucus Review Committee are:
Chair Bill Schickel, Cerro Gordo County
Co-Chair Mary Mosiman, Story County
Chad Olsen, Guthrie County
David Chung, Linn County
David Fischer, Polk County
David Oman, Polk County
Gwen Ecklund, Crawford County
Judy Davidson, Scott County
Kathy Pearson, Linn County
Kim Lehman, Polk County
Randy Erickson, Buena Vista County
Rev. Jamie Johnson, Webster County
Richard Schwarm, Winnebago County
Sen. Nancy Boettger, Shelby County
Steve Grubbs, Scott County
Steve Scheffler, Polk County
Wes Enos, Polk County

Enhanced by Zemanta

About the Author

The Iowa Republican

blog comments powered by Disqus