News Center

November 10th, 2011

Behn Elected as Republican Leader

DES MOINES – Today, Senate Republicans met at the Capitol and elected leadership for the second half of the 84th General Assembly, which will convene on January 9, 2012. Senator Jerry Behn (R-Boone) was elected as Republican Leader.

“I look forward to serving the state in the role of Senate Republican Leader and know that our job is just beginning,” said Behn. “We have a tough row to hoe and we need to work expeditiously to unify our caucus and enact meaningful legislation that will grow jobs and the economy.”

Senator Behn has been serving in the Iowa Senate since 1996 and recently served on the Senate Ethics, State Government, Natural Resources Committees and as Ranking Member of the Senate Commerce.

“Senate Republicans want to reign in government, help Iowans keep more of their hard-earned dollars and put more Iowans back to work. As simple as it sounds, I know we can accomplish this during the 2012 Legislative Session,” said Behn. “With these simple ingredients, I know we can take back the majority in 2012.”

Senator Brad Zaun (R-Urbandale) was elected to serve as the Senate Republican Whip while Senators Kapucian (R-Keystone), Bartz (R-Grafton), Smith (R-Davenport), Ward (R-West Des Moines) and Johnson (R-Ocheyedan) were elected as Assistant Leaders.

About the Author

The Iowa Republican

blog comments powered by Disqus