News Center

November 5th, 2010

Paulsen’s 60

The makings of the Republican Majority in the Iowa House began with 26 incumbents who were not being challenged by Democrats.  The 13 House Republicans with challengers all easily won re-election.  Paulsen’s team then went out and won eight open seats and knocked off 13 incumbent Democrats.  26+13+8+13=60.

Below is the listing of the 60 House Republicans

1– Jeremy Taylor (Sioux City)*
3– Chuck Soderberg (Le Mars)
4– Dwayne Alons (Hull)
5–Royd Chambers (Sheldon)
6–Jeff Smith (Okoboji)*
8–Tom Shaw (Laurens)*
9–Stewart Iverson (Clarion)*
10–Dave Deyoe (Nevada)
11–Henry Rayhons (Garner)
12–Linda Upmeyer (Garner) — Currently House Minority Whip, will be seeking election as House Majority Leader
14–Josh Byrnes (Osage)*
16–Bob Hager (Dorchester)*
17–Pat Grassley (New Hartford)
20–Walt Rogers (Cedar Falls)*
23–Dan Rasmussen (Independence)*
25–Brian Moore (Zwingle)*
31–Lee Hein (Monticello)*
32–Steve Lukan (New Vienna)
35–Kraig Paulsen (Hiawatha) — Currently House Republican Leader, will be seeking election as House Speaker
36–Nick Wagner (Marion)
37–Renee Schulte (Cedar Rapids)
39–Dawn Pettengill (Mount Auburn)
40–Lance Horbach (Tama)
42–Kim Pearson (Pleasant Hill)*
44–Annette Sweeney (Alden)
47–Ralph Watts (Adel)
48–Chip Baltimore (Boone)*
50–Dave Tjepkes (Gowrie)
52–Gary Worthan (Storm Lake)
53–Dan Huseman (Aurelia)
54–Ron Jorgensen (Sioux City)*
55–Jason Schultz (Schleswig)
56–Matt Windschitl (Missouri Valley)
57–Jack Drake (Griswold)
58–Clel Baudler (Greenfield)
59–Chris Hagenow (Windsor Heights)
60–Peter Cownie (West Des Moines)
63–Scott Raecker (Urbandale)
69–Erik Helland (Johnston)
70–Kevin Koester (Ankeny)
71–Jim Van Engelenhoven (Pella)
72–Rich Arnold (Russell)
73–Julian Garrett (Indianola)*
74–Glen Massie (Des Moines)*
75–Guy Vander Linden (Oskaloosa)*
76–Betty De Boef (What Cheer)
79–Jeff Kaufmann (Wilton)
80–Mark Lofgren (Muscatine)*
82–Linda Miller (Bettendorf)
83–Steve Olson (DeWitt)
84–Ross Paustian (Walcott)*
87–Tom Sands (Wapello)
89–Jarad Klein (Keota)*
91–David Heaton (Mt. Pleasant)
95–Joel Fry (Osceola)*
96–Cecil Dolecheck (Mount Ayr)
97–Rich Anderson (Clarinda)
98–Greg Forristall (Macedonia)
99–Mary Ann Hanusa (Treynor)*
100–Mark Brandenburg (Council Bluffs)*

* indicates they are freshman legislators

Enhanced by Zemanta

About the Author

Craig Robinson
Craig Robinson is the founder and editor-in-chief of, a political news and commentary site he launched in March of 2009. Robinson’s political analysis is respected across party lines, which has allowed him to build a good rapport with journalist across the country. Robinson has also been featured on Iowa Public Television’s Iowa Press, ABC’s This Week, and other local television and radio programs. Campaign’s & Elections Magazine recognized Robinson as one of the top influencers of the 2012 Iowa Caucuses. A 2013 Politico article sited Robinson and as the “premier example” of Republican operatives across the country starting up their own political news sites. His website has been repeatedly praised as the best political blog in Iowa by the Washington Post, and in January of 2015, Politico included him on the list of local reporters that matter in the early presidential states. Robinson got his first taste of Iowa politics in 1999 while serving as Steve Forbes’ southeast Iowa field coordinator where he was responsible for organizing 27 Iowa counties. In 2007, Robinson served as the Political Director of the Republican Party of Iowa where he was responsible for organizing the 2007 Iowa Straw Poll and the 2008 First-in-the-Nation Iowa Caucuses. Following the caucuses, he created his own political news and commentary site, Robinson is also the President of Global Intermediate, a national mail and political communications firm with offices in West Des Moines, Iowa, and Washington, D.C. Robinson utilizes his fundraising and communications background to service Global’s growing client roster with digital and print marketing. Robinson is a native of Goose Lake, Iowa, and a 1999 graduate of St. Ambrose University in Davenport, where he earned degrees in history and political science. Robinson lives in Ankeny, Iowa, with his wife, Amanda, and son, Luke. He is an active member of the Lutheran Church of Hope.

blog comments powered by Disqus