News Center

November 8th, 2010

Kraig Paulsen Set to be the Next Speaker of the Iowa House

Today Iowa House Republicans elected new leadership to carry them into the eighty-fourth General Assembly.

Rep. Kraig Paulsen (Hiawatha) is the Speaker-elect. Paulsen will be serving his fifth term in the House and is an attorney for CRST International, Inc. in Cedar Rapids. A former member of the United States Air Force, Paulsen had previously served as the Minority Whip in 2007 and 2008 and most recently the House Republican Leader for two years.

Rep. Linda Upmeyer (Garner) was elected as the House Majority Leader. Upmeyer will be serving her fifth term in the House and is a nurse practitioner. Upmeyer previously served as the House Minority Whip for two years.

Rep. Jeff Kaufmann (Wilton) is the Speaker Pro Tem-Elect. Kaufmann will be serving his fourth term in the House and is a professor at Muscatine Community College.

Also elected was Rep. Erik Helland (Johnston) as the House Majority Whip.

Majority Assistant Leaders are: Rep. Matt Windschitl (Missouri Valley), Rep. Renee Schulte (Cedar Rapids), Rep. Dave Deyoe (Nevada), Rep. Steve Lukan (New Vienna).

“I’m honored that House Republicans have elected me to serve as their Speaker,” said Paulsen. “Our new Republican majority is committed to reducing the size and scope of government, eliminating wasteful spending, and putting Iowans back to work.”

The Legislature convenes on January 10, 2011

Enhanced by Zemanta

About the Author

The Iowa Republican

blog comments powered by Disqus