News Center

July 29th, 2010

King’s Request for Federal Major Disaster Declaration for Storm, Flood and Tornado Damage Approved

Covered Counties are eligible for Public Assistance and Hazard Mitigation Programs

Congressman Steve King announced today that Iowa’s request for a Major Disaster Declaration had been granted by President Obama. Today’s decision comes just nine days after Congressman King wrote the President to request that he approve Iowa’s request for federal assistance following severe storms beginning in early June and continuing. King’s letter to the President was signed by all five Members of Iowa’s Congressional House delegation. As a result of today’s disaster declaration, counties that have suffered significant storm, flood and tornado damage caused by the severe weather systems that have swept through the state since June 1 are eligible for FEMA’s public assistance and hazard mitigation programs.

“Today’s decision will be welcome news for Iowans, and I appreciate the Administration’s decision to approve the state’s request for this disaster declaration,” said King. “I know that the scenes of flood damage I observed in Cherokee County are being repeated throughout both the 5th district and the state at large. Access to these federal recovery programs will help those communities that have been severely impacted by the storms get back on their feet.”

The following counties are covered by the July 29, 2010 disaster declaration:

Adams, Appanoose, Audubon, Buena Vista, Butler, Cherokee, Clay, Davis, Decatur, Franklin, Howard, Humboldt, Iowa, Lee, Lyon, Madison, Marion, Mills, Monroe, Montgomery, O’Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Ringgold, Shelby, Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, Wayne, Webster and Wright.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About the Author

The Iowa Republican

blog comments powered by Disqus