News Center

November 9th, 2010

Iowa Senate Republicans Elect Leadership

Yesterday, the Iowa Senate Republicans gathered to elect new leadership, welcome eight new members to the caucus, and discuss their priorities for the upcoming 84th Iowa General Assembly.

Sen. Paul McKinley (R-Chariton) was again elected to serve as the Senate Republican Leader while Steve Kettering (R-Lake View) was elected as Senate Republican Whip. Sens. Merlin Bartz (R-Grafton), Brad Zaun (R-Urbandale), Pat Ward (R-West Des Moines), David Johnson (R-Ocheyedan) and Tim Kapucian (R-Keystone).

As a result of Tuesday’s election, Senate Republicans are expected to occupy 24 of the 50 seats in the Iowa Senate. Republicans picked up six previously held Democratic seats, an amount believed to be the largest in modern Iowa history, retained two Republican open seats and handily re-elected four current members of the caucus.

“Coming off this historic election, I am truly honored and humbled to again be selected by my fellow colleagues to serve as the Republican Leader of the Iowa Senate,” said McKinley. “Our significantly larger Senate Republican caucus is eagerly looking forward to working with Governor-elect Branstad, Lieutenant Governor-elect Reynolds and Speaker-elect Paulsen to move this state forward by focusing on our ambitious agenda of private sector job creation, reduced spending, lower taxes and providing Iowans with more of a say in their government.”

The first day of session will be Monday, January 10, 2010.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About the Author

The Iowa Republican

blog comments powered by Disqus