News Center

June 17th, 2010

Group Encourages Branstad to Pick Rod Roberts for LG

A group of grassroots activists are petitioning Republican gubernatorial nominee Terry Branstad to select Rod Roberts as his running mate.  The effort is being headed by Jeff Jorgenson,

We are a grassroots effort working hard to convince the Iowa Republican Gubernatorial nominee, former Governor Terry Branstad, to add former Gubernatorial candidate, Representative Rod Roberts, to his ticket as Lt. Governor.

Recently The Iowa Press Citizen wrote:

“If Branstad is still interested in positioning himself as the conservative candidate best able to cross-political divides within the state, he might consider asking his other rival, Rod Roberts of Carroll, to be his running mate.

In Robert’s 10 years in the Iowa Legislature, he proved himself to be both a good human being and a good representative for his Western Iowa district. In his work for Christian Churches/Churches of Christ, he oversees new church development and works with local congregations in planning and leadership programs. As such, he has the experience to be an effective lieutenant governor, the religious clout to reach out to voters who doubt Branstad’s conservative bona fides and the learning ability to develop into a strong gubernatorial candidate for 2014.”

We agree. We believe that Rod Roberts is a solid conservative, both fiscally and socially. He is well liked and respected throughout the party. We also believe that the Lt. Governor is somebody who should be ready to be Governor if the need ever arises. We believe that Rod Roberts is that man.

Would you join us by signing this petition that will be given to the Branstad campaign? Thank you so much for your support.

Petition Sponsors:

Jeff Jorgenson
Shane Vander Hart

The following are some notable people who have signed on to the effort:

Dick Baber
Central Committee Member
Pottawattamie County Republican Party

Robert Bixby
Chairperson – Decatur County Republican Party

Nancy Boettger
Republican State Senator

Steve Cates
Chairperson – Pottawattamie County Republican Party

Therese Davis
Chairperson – Guthrie County Republican Party

Cecil Dolecheck
State Representative

Randy Ericksen
Chairperson – Buena Vista County Republican Party

Gary Guttau
Executive Committee Member – Pottawattamie County Republican Party

Mick Guttau
Former Superintendent of Banking under Governor Branstad (1995-99)
Chairman and CEO of Treynor State Bank

Judy Guttau
Board Member – Treynor State Bank

Mary Ann Hanusa
Republican Nominee for State Representative

Reid Houser
Former Member –  Iowa State Republican Central Planning Committee

Daniel Huseman
State Representative

Timothy Jensen
Chairperson – Monona County Republican Party

Charlie Johnson
Executive Committee Member
Pottawattamie County Republican Party

Jeff Jorgensen
Central Committee Member
Pottawattamie County Republican Party

Kevin Kruse
Chairperson – Union County Republican Party

Debbie Larson
Chairperson – Ringgold County Republican Party

Rachel Law
Chairperson – Ida County Republican Party

Mark Leeds
Chairperson – Cherokee County Republican Party

Mike May
State Representative

Gary McNutt
Central Committee Member – Mills County Republican Party

Sharon McNutt
Co-Chairperson – Mills County Republican Party

Sheila Murphy
Chairperson – Harrison County Republican Party

Ray Negley
Chairperson – Clark County Republican Party

Darin Raymond
Chairperson – Plymouth County Republican Party

Chuck Soderberg
State Representative

Hank Sorenson
Chairperson – Adams County Republican Party

Craig Williams
Chairperson – Carroll County Republican Party
Member – State Central Committee

Gary Worthan
State Representative

Karen York
Chairperson – Page County Republican Party

John Bloom
Chairperson – Polk County Republican Party

Shane Vander Hart
Central Committee Member – Polk County Republican Party;
Editor of Caffeinated Thoughts web site.

To sign the on-line petition click here.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About the Author

The Iowa Republican

blog comments powered by Disqus